Stanford Social Innovation Review : Informing and inspiring leaders of social change

SUBSCRIBE | HELP

Tag: Psychology

 

 

Health

Time to Return to the Whole

Only by finding a new narrative that embraces the whole, rather than the parts, can we build the health-creating systems we need.

By Jamie Harvie | Jul. 2, 2015
 

Nonprofit Management

Using Brands for Impact

Social sector brands are more than logos on annual reports; they are tools to drive impact.

By Grant Tudor | 2 | Jul. 1, 2015
 

Education

The Missing Link in Girls’ Education

Building resilience can improve girls’ health and education faster and more effectively, but it’s a missing component of nearly all global development efforts to improve girls’ outcomes.

By Steve Leventhal | 5 | Jun. 29, 2015
 
Timothy_Ogden_headshot_SSIR_Financial_Access_Initiative_US_Financial_Diaries

Economic Development

The IRS’s Secret, Successful Low-Income Savings Program

Let’s build on—not try to fix—overwithholding.

By Timothy Ogden | 1 | Apr. 15, 2015
 
If_it_does_good

Individual Giving

If It Does Good, Feel It

Benefiting emotionally from altruistic behavior doesn’t lessen—indeed, it increases—other people’s regard for that behavior.
By Adrienne Day | Feb. 18, 2015
 

Global Issues

Cracking the Black Box of Human Reasoning

We have powerful new tools to solve complex social problems—but how we apply them will determine our success.

By Deepthi Welaratna | 2 | Feb. 10, 2015
 

Health

A National Growth Plan Rooted in One State’s Success

Why one successful youth program resisted the urge to expand too quickly.

By Taz Hussein & Sridhar Prasad | Jan. 12, 2015
 

Nonprofit Management

The Dawn of System Leadership

To solve society's most pressing problems requires a system leader who can catalyze collective leadership. Includes magazine extras.
 

Environment

A Climate of Mind

People tend to avoid reckoning with climate science—for reasons that have little to do with science.
Reviewed By Andrew J. Hoffman | Nov. 19, 2014
 

Philanthropy

How Giving Keeps on Giving

Those who engage in altruistic behavior reap benefits that are significant and measurable, two sociologists argue.
Reviewed By Kieran Healy | Nov. 19, 2014